Recall or replace an email message that you sent
Message recall is available after you click Send and is available only if the recipient has an Exchange account within the same organization.
If you send a message by accident, you can try to recall the message from the recipients by using the Recall This Message feature in Microsoft Outlook. The message recall feature lets you recall, replace, or delete messages that you have sent.
Message recall is not successful if one or more of the following conditions are true:
- The recipient is not using Outlook.
- The recipient is not logged on to the mail service provider.
- The recipient is using Cached Exchange Mode and is working offline.
- The original message is moved from the Inbox. This can occur when rules are used.
- The original message is opened first and marked as read. This can occur when the message is displayed in the Preview Pane or Reading Pane.
Message recall is currently NOT available in Outlook for Mac, Outlook Web App or Outlook Mobile.